WhatsApp, has added a much-needed functionality that prevents users from capturing screenshots of a display once messages are received.
With WhatsApp’s ‘view once’ option, you may send a message without worrying about the recipient snapping a screenshot.
How does WhatsApp prevent view-only messages?
A little symbol shows beneath the ‘Add a description’ option whenever users send videos or photos. When you click on the icon, the media will only be view once.
Aside from that, screen recording, which is available on nearly all smartphones, would not work. The screen recording will go black when you view the ‘view once’ message.
Because “view once” means “view once” 🙅📸 pic.twitter.com/LFXKxuaQKx— WhatsApp (@WhatsApp) January 23, 2023
WhatsApp is working to develop a ‘view once text’ feature.
WhatsApp is now working on introducing the ‘view once text’ feature after rolling out the option to prohibit screenshots of view once messages. According to WABetaInfo, the functionality is presently available in WhatsApp’s Android beta version, which allows users to send messages that can only be viewed once before disappearing.
Once the functionality is ready, a padlock-style button with the conventional send message logo will be available in the app to access it.
View once photos and videos cannot be sent or copied, and view once text messages will not be able to do the same.